Qantas appoints Dr Heather Smith PSM as new non-executive director to its board

 Friday, August 25, 2023 


en flag
fr flag
de flag
it flag
es flag

Qantas has today announced the appointment of a new non-executive director to its board, Dr Heather Smith PSM, as the national carrier maintains its focus on renewal.

Dr Smith had a 20-year career in the Australian Public Service (APS), having most recently held the position of Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation, and Science between 2017 and 2020, and was Secretary of the Department of Communications and Arts prior to that between 2016 and 2017.

Dr Smith began her career as an economist at the Reserve Bank of Australia, before going on to complete a PhD in economics at the Australian National University (ANU). Dr Smith later joined the APS where she held numerous senior positions in the departments of Prime Minister and Cabinet, Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Treasury, as well as the Office of National Intelligence.

Dr Smith is a non-executive director of ASX Limited, Challenger Limited and a Professor at ANU National Security College. She is also National President of the Australian Institute of International Affairs.

Announcing the changes, Qantas Chairman Richard Goyder said: “Heather has had a distinguished career as an academic and in the Australian Public Service, having advised the highest levels of government on national security, economic reform, public policy and innovation. Heather’s extensive experience in these areas, and more recently as a board director, make her an excellent addition to the expertise on the Qantas Board”.

Dr Smith said: “It is an honour to become part of the Qantas board. I’m excited to be joining at a time when Qantas is entering a new phase of growth and renewal, and I look forward to working with my board colleagues and management to support that.”

Dr Smith will sit on the Board from today ahead of a shareholder vote at the company’s 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 3 November.

As announced in May 2023, current Non-Executive Director, Michael L’Estrange, will retire at the AGM after three terms.

Following the November AGM, Qantas will have a nine member board, consisting of five women and four men.

« Back to Page

Related Posts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Sep 10
September 10 - September 12
Sep 12
September 12 - September 14
Sep 12
September 12 - September 14